A set of poems by the Ogden Nash, the  American poet well-known for light verse.

The Camel

The camel has a single hump;
The dromedary , two;
Or else the other way around.

I’m never sure.
Are you?

 The Octopus

Tell me, O Octopus, I begs
Is those things arms, or is they legs?
I marvel at thee, Octopus;
If I were thou, I’d call me Us.

The Termite

Some primal termite knocked on wood
And tasted it, and found it good!
And that is why your Cousin May
Fell through the parlor floor today.

The Turtle

The turtle lives ‘twixt plated decks
Which practically conceal its sex.

I think it clever of the turtle
In such a fix to be so fertile.

The Ant

The ant has made herself illustrious
By constant industry industrious.

So what? Would you be calm and placid
If you were full of formic acid?

 The Dog

The truth I do not stretch or shove
When I state that the dog is full of love.

I’ve also found, by actual test,
A wet dog is the lovingest.

 The Rhinoceros

The rhino is a homely beast,
For human eyes he’s not a feast.

Farwell, farewell, you old rhinoceros,
I’ll stare at something less prepoceros.

 The Wasp

The wasp and all his numerous family
I look upon as a major calamity.

He throws open his nest with prodigality,
But I distrust his waspitality.

 The Ostrich

The ostrich roams the great Sahara.
Its mouth is wide, its neck is narra.

It has such long and lofty legs,
I’m glad it sits to lay its eggs.

The Firefly

The firefly’s flame
Is something for which science has no name
I can think of nothing eerier
Than flying around with an unidentified glow on a
person’s posteerier.

 The Centipede

I objurgate the centipede,
A bug we do not really need.

At sleepy-time he beats a path
Straight to the bedroom or the bath.

You always wallop where he’s not,
Or, if he is, he makes a spot.

 The Germ

A mighty creature is the germ,
Though smaller than the pachyderm.

His customary dwelling place
Is deep within the human race.

His childish pride he often pleases
By giving people strange diseases.

Do you, my poppet, feel infirm?
You probably contain a germ.

Contributed by Navin

